Archive for movies

Movie Manathon: Freddy Krueger, Crystal Meth and high tech space prisons

Posted in movies, reviews with tags , , , , on August 20, 2012 by Paxton

Steph went to visit her parents last week, so I took the time to watch several movies and TV shows she wants nothing to do with.  I’ve done this several times before, check out some previous movie manathons here.

The wife’s away, so Pax will play. Let’s start with the movies I watched.

lockout
Lockout (2012) – Starring Guy Pearce, Maggie Grace and Peter Stormare.  I was surprised how much I enjoyed this.  Good action, quick dialogue.  Pearce is wonderfully sarcastic.  Loved it.  My only issue is that Maggie Grace is terrible.  I just do not like her and she continues proving to me that she can’t act with every movie she’s in.

Chronicle
Chronicle (2012) – I think of this as “that super hero Facebook movie” because it was advertised so heavily on “the book”.  I was well aware of it but I hadn’t really heard a lot about it specificially.  But the premise sounded great and I knew my wife would never watch it so I got the Blu-Ray from Netflix and popped it in the PS3.  And it’s AWESOME.  Wow, I didn’t expect it to be this good.  This is how I imagine it would actually happen if teens received super powers.  And the movie gets pretty dark at the end.  I also like that it’s essentially a “found footage” movie which adds a bit of realism.  If you like super hero movies, this is definitely a different take on them.  Give it a shot, I think you’ll like it.

Nightmare on Elm St
Nightmare on Elm Street (2010) – Starring Jackie Earl Haley as Freddy.  For some reason I keep thinking of this movie receiving a lot of hate from fans.  I’m not sure why.  Is the movie perfect? No.  But neither is 9/10 of the entire Nightmare franchise.  This movie is good and I like Haley’s performance.  I like how they fleshed out Freddy a little more and made him less jokey with only 1 one-liner.  The effects were spectacular as well.  The movie looked gorgeous.

Paranormal Activity 2
Paranormal Activity 2 (2010) – Saw the first one and loved it, so I decided to check out the second one since Steph doesn’t like horror movies.  And it’s good.  These “found footage” movies I really love.  I do.  They are actually pretty scary.  I think they are scarier than something like Nightmare on Elm Street or Friday the 13th because they feel more “real”.  Screw that torture porn crap like Saw and Hostel, these movies like Paranormal Activity, Blair Witch and Fourth Kind really creep me out (Blair Witch not so much any more).  I started watching it one evening and actually had to turn it off to watch it the next afternoon.  It’s pretty creepy.  The “found footage” genre gets a lot of crap for some reason probably because it’s more of a creepy factor than out and out gore and kills.  It’s a slow, suspenseful burn.  I’ve even heard The Atomic Geeks say the genre is played out which is retarded because there are way more superhero, time travel or fantasy movies than there are “found footage” movies and none of those other genres are considered played out.  I thought this movie was well done.

Continue reading

12 completely awesome movie posters featuring sharks

Posted in movies, pop culture with tags , , , on August 13, 2012 by Paxton

This week begins Discovery Channel’s 25th anniversary celebration of Shark Week. Shark Week has become an institution unto itself. I love it and I try to watch as much of it as I can every year. So, to help celebrate the 25th Anniversary, I decided to take a look at movies featuring sharks. More specifically, movie posters featuring sharks.

There are lots of ridiculously bad ass posters out there for shark movies. Some of the movies may even be complete ass, but the posters are awesome. So, let’s take a look at 10 of the most awesome.

I normally don’t do these lists in any order, but I’m going to put these posters in chronological order for you.

Let’s “dive” in.

The Sharkfighters
The Sharkfighters (1956) – Man against Tiger Shark with just a knife and his wits.  What a great poster.  The title evokes images of men in actual fist fights with sharks.  Like street boxing matches.

She Gods of Shark Reef
She Gods of Shark Reef (1958) – Directed by the great Roger Corman.  Don’t get me wrong, because I love the sh*t out of this movie’s title, but I don’t think the title nor the blurb has anything to do with the actual story.  The movie makes no mention of “HIDEOUS STONE GODS”.

Jaws
Jaws (1975) – Still one of the greatest.  I love this poster.

Sharks' Treasure 1 Sharks' Treasure 2
Sharks’ Treasure (1975) – This one has two great posters! I love how they make the “sharks” in the title possessive, as if the treasure belongs to ALL sharks.  And that first poster, the frogman is fighting that shark WITH A KNIFE.  Awesome.  The second poster actually put lips on the shark.  LIPS.  That’s weird.

Continue reading

My dream cast for a Clue: The Movie reboot

Posted in movies, pop culture with tags , , , on August 10, 2012 by Paxton

League Another great assignment for The League this week. Probably the best one we’ve had. I might have to say that this is the single greatest topic ever conceived in the history of blogging, the Internet, or probably in anything. EVER.  And I think the person who suggested said topic is probably as handsome as he his distinguished in his bad assness.  The topic?

Remake one of your favorite movies with a cast of current Hollywood stars.

The person who suggested it?  The Man-God known as…me.  Yes, this is my topic suggestion for the week.  I think it’s pretty awesome, hopefully the rest of the League does as well (how could they not?).  Anyway, on to this week’s topic. Hollywood loves remakes and reboots. Most recently Hollywood also loves movies based on board games. Why not combine the two?  I thought that this was the “perfect storm” of events I needed to beat Hollywood to the punch and cast a reboot of a popular 80s movie based on a board game.  And the movie I chose is one of my favorite comedies of all time, Clue: The Movie (which just hit Blu-Ray on Tues).

Clue the Movie

There has been talk for years of remaking this movie and currently Gore Verbinski is attached (director of the first three Pirates of the Caribbean movies).  Who knows how that’s going to turn out, so let’s take a look at my own personal “dream cast” for a new Clue movie. Now just note, I view this reboot as a true, “hard” reboot.  It would stay true to the spirit and look of the original movie to a point, but it would not be “in continuity” with the original.  It would truly stand on its own.

Here we go.  You can click the card images of the new cast to see them bigger.

Wadsworth Clue card back Sheen
WadsworthMichael Sheen – Originally played by the great Tim Curry.  In my eyes there is no better casting for this role than Michael Sheen.  You’ve seen him in the Underworld movies as well as Tron: Legacy and Frost/Nixon.

Miss Scarlet Clue card back ScarJo
Miss ScarletScarlett Johansson – Originally played by Lesley Ann Warren. Warren was good and funny, but she was not my favorite of the original ensemble. I think ScarJo would be an upgrade. Plus, she has proven that she can do comedy pretty well. And, she’s rather attractive, as Miss Scarlet is supposed to be (not to say that Warren wasn’t attractive).

Col Mustard Clue card back Reilly
Col Mustard – This was the hardest role to cast.  I am a huge fan of Martin Mull. Just watch him in Mr Mom. He almost steals the movie. Anyway, I was going to put Ed Helms here, and he’d probably be great, but I don’t buy him as a former Army colonel.  So, I decided there are two ways to go here, I can go with a more conventional pick that I think fits really well or I can go with an “out of the box” pick.  I think I’m leaning towards my “conventional pick”, John C Reilly.  Reilly is really funny and I do buy him as a former colonel.  As for my unconventional pick, I also really like Bob De Niro.  The last decade or so De Niro has shown he has an affinity for comedies and  I totally think he’d work.  However, as part of this “comedy all star” ensemble I’m building, De Niro sticks out like a sore thumb.

Mrs Peacock Clue card back Wiig
Mrs PeacockKristen Wiig – Originally played by the great Eileen Brennan.  Wiig is perfect for this part because not only does she look a bit like Brennan (check out the images for comparison), she is funny and quirky and weird.  Exactly how Brennan played Mrs Peacock.

Continue reading

Nerd Lunch Episode 49: Guilty Pleasures

Posted in movies, podcast, pop culture, TV shows with tags , , , , , on August 8, 2012 by Paxton

Nerd Lunch Podcast

Here we are, 1 episode before the big 5-0. This week we are joined again by Rondal from Strange Kid’s Club and we are doing a somewhat “sequel” to a subject from w-a-a-a-a-a-a-a-y back in Episode 4.  That subject was guilty displeasures.  However, this week, we are flipping the script and talking about guilty pleasures.

Guilty Pleasures
(Via Pretty Random Things)

Yes, guilty pleasures. Those things you do that you are ashamed you do. Watch a terrible TV show, enjoy a bad movie. Maybe you don’t feel guilty about it but everyone else you know gives you crap about it. That’s what we are discussing. And yes, reality television is mentioned more than once.  So strap on your listening devices and join us.

Download this episode from iTunes or listen to it on Feedburner.

Or just listen to the episode via the Internet radio machine here.

The Pirate Movie turns 30 years old today

Posted in movies, pop culture with tags , , , , on August 6, 2012 by Paxton

The Pirate Movie

The Pirate Movie starring Christopher Atkins and Kristy MacNichol was released on August 6, 1982, which is 30 years ago today. Many people consider this movie a cheesy knockoff of the play Pirates of Penzance.  However, while it’s incredibly cheesy,  it’s more accurate to say that it’s a spoof of the Penzance play.  It did not set the box office on fire, but HBO would play it continuously throughout the 80s causing it to have a cult following.

Here’s a newspaper ad of the movie from the day it was released on Aug 6.

Pirate Movie

Not only did this movie spoof pirate movies, it also spoofed musicals like Grease and even had some Star Wars jokes.  It seemed like the cast had a really good time making it and most of the songs were very well written.

Check out the awesomely 80s trailer:

I am a big fan of musicals and this was a great one.  The soundtrack is truly one for the ages.  I still listen to (and workout out to) songs on this album.  The songs on the album included some of the more famous Penzance songs like Modern Major-General and Pirate King, but also featured newly written songs specifically for the movie.

Pirate Movie soundtrack

Some of my favorite songs in the movie include:

Pumpin’ and Blowin’ by Kristy McNichol (very much a late ’70s-early 80s tune)

The Modern Major-General Song

I am a Pirate King

The very Grease-like final number Happy Endings: