Steph was away last week. So I did what I always do when left to my own devices…take the opportunity to catch up on awesomely bad movies that Steph would never watch. Check out a previous man-a-thon article here.
So, here’s what I watched this past week. I made good use of Netflix Streaming as well as some freebie Redbox codes.

Piranha (2010) – I talked about this movie in my very first On the Shelves over on Strange Kid’s Club. I finally got to watch it. And it’s good. Surprisingly so. I’m not a huge fan of the McQueen kid in the lead, but Elizabeth Shue (she’s still hot) is great as is Jerry O’Connell who is chewing up scenery like crazy. I love they got Dreyfuss in a cameo reprising his role from Jaws. Just a fun little horror flick. Lots and lots of mayhem and gore. I look forward to the sequel. I’m a little pissed they gave away the final scare in the trailer, though.
Ip Man (2008) – I’ve been wanting to see this for years. It hit Netflix streaming last year and I finally got a chance to watch it this week. And it is AWESOME. This movie contains a f**king avalanche of awesome ass kickings. Donnie Yen is a BAD. ASS. I’m now going to have to revisit some of Yen’s previous movies like Iron Monkey, Once Upon a Time in China 2, Blade II (which he was only in for like 10 seconds), etc. Yen has Legend of the Fist: The Return of Chen Zhen coming up and there was a trailer for it on the DVD. It looks AWESOME.
Ip Man 2: Legend of the Grandmaster (2010) – So after bathing in the awesomeness that is Ip Man, I rushed right out to Redbox and got Ip Man 2. However, it was a tad hard to find. I stopped by like 3 different Redboxes before I could find one that had it. But it was worth it. While not as good as the first one, this one is still pretty bad ass. Yen is back and this time he brings Sammo muthaf**king Hung with him. They both have a great fight scene at one point. This movie has less of a story than the first, it’s mostly fight setup-fight-fight setup-fight. Plus, there are only like 2 American characters in this movie and, of course, they are both insufferable douchebags. But it’s a lot of fun and a worthy followup to the original.

Jaws The Revenge (1987) – I had never seen this movie all the way through. I was listening to Now Playing’s Jaws retrospective podcast and it got me wanting to watch this movie from beginning to end. So I did. And it’s terrible. The acting, the story, the special effects. Pretty much across the board this movie is awful. Mario Van Peebles is in it and he speaks with a Jamaican accent. It’s that bad. And yes, it’s true, the shark has a vendetta against the Brody family so it follows them from Amity Island all the way down to the Bahamas. But it’s not made clear what the vendetta is. Is he pissed about the other sharks the Brodys killed? How’d he find out? What about everyone else that has ever killed a shark…EVER? They just get a pass? It’s just really, really dumb.

































