Archive for movies

Movie Review: Inside Man; Heist TV Show & Ocean’s 13

Posted in movies, reviews, TV, TV shows with tags , , , on March 28, 2006 by Paxton

For the wife’s birthday, went to see Inside Man with Clive Owen, Denzel Washington and Jodi Foster. As you can tell from my earlier post about heist movies, I LOVE this sub-genre. Heist movies, for the most part are so much fun. I love seeing new entries. I was underwhelmed recently by the movie Firewall with Harrison Ford. A limp, home/invasion, bank heist movie that really went nowhere for me. Paul Bettany as the robber was the only thing to save the movie. Harrison Ford continues on his rapid decent into mediocrity. But I digress. Inside Man is everything I ever wanted. Cool, smart mastermind, clever plan and interesting backstory. There is a lot going on, but it’s unbelievable how Clive Owen’s character is one step ahead of the police. The backstory and the ending are very cool and interesting also.

The performances also add to the wonderful script. Clive Owen is perfect as Dalton, the mastermind behind the bank robbery. He continues to impress me with his roles. Jodie Foster is great as usual with the hauty, smugness of her character Madeline, someone used to getting things done…discreetly. Denzel disappoints a little bit, but I fully confess to not really being a fan of him anyway. His character complements Owens’ Dalton nicely.

I was very suprised this is a Spke Lee movie. There’s lots of smart humor and really good action in this script. The ads and trailers I’ve seen do not play up the fact that he directed it, nor does it seem like his usual fair (of which I am also not really a fan). If this is how Spike can perform when not preaching about the ghetto, then consider me interested from now on. This movie had me entertained and out-guessed from the beginning and I applaud Spike and the other actors for finally putting a good movie out in a so far slow movie season.

Speaking of the heist sub-genre of movies, Steph and I watched the TV show Heist on NBC Sunday night (I had TiVo’d it. It actually aired last Wednesday).


It wasn’t bad. It had elements of Ocean’s 11 mixed with Out of Sight. Some of the dialogue I thought was trying too hard. The two main characters, Mickey and James, are having a discussion and they talk about topics no one on Earth would have regular conversations about like Mother Teresa and famous historical dates. For me, it was trying a tad too hard to be smart. You can have witty banter without having the characters off-handedly discuss the content of Mother Teresa’s letters and the date of the last Mongol invasion. Unnecessary.

Other than that, the show was very slick and executed itself very well. The heist in this episode was just the initial job to raise some money for the big heist to be executed later. After this first heist, I am definately interested in how they pull off the next heist.

Reading reviews of this show, I saw some online criticism that the heist depicted in the episode would have had to have too many things go right to realistically pull off. I say, if you watch and enjoy heist movies, you have to realize going in that timing and execution is everything. Of course everything has to happen with an insane, supernatural sense of execution and timing, otherwise it would be boring. But that’s just me.

I was not a fan of the lead, Dougray Scott, going into this (he was originally cast to play Wolverine in X-men but had to decline when filming on Mission Impossible II ran long), but he performs admirably here. As does the rest of his team. Check out pics from this series here.
The female member of the heist team, Lola, is HOOOOOOOOOT. I’ll definately tune in (with my TiVo at least) next Wednesday to see where this goes.

I’m in a heist state of mind, so, here is some news about Ocean’s 13. Filming starts by the end of the year and all the boys are back. The girls, however, will not be returning. I say yeah! for no Julia Roberts, but NO! for Catherine Zeta-Jones. Oh well. This is one of my favorite franchises so I’ll be there regardless.

Technorati Tags –

Movie Reviews: Mission: Impossible franchise

Posted in movies, pop culture, reviews with tags , , on March 23, 2006 by Paxton

Our mission, and we chose to accept it, was to watch the Mission Impossible movie.

The wife and I had watched our Blockbuster movies the night before and nothing was on TV, so Steph was tasked with picking a movie. She perused the Holley DVD Vaults, felt like an action movie, and came up with Mission: Impossible starring Tom Cruise. Now, as of late, Tom Cruise has been acting like a first rate asshat. He used to be the cool, aloof Mr. Cruise. Now he’s the outspoken, cradle-robbing asshat. And I emphasize the words ASSHAT. I’ve been able to separate the off screen Cruise psychopath and still enjoy him onscreen, that is, until he made War of the Worlds. But I loved Mission Impossible and was eager to see it again to rekindle my fondness for a good Cruise action movie.

Mission Impossible is how a good action movie should be done. It’s fast, action packed and has very cool gadgets and characters. This was a big, action movie, but the director kept the atmosphere close and tight. You could tell this movie’s tone and atmosphere was used later for Bourne Identity and Bourne Supremecy. When I first saw it I remember being completely shocked when Cruise’s entire IMF team is killed in the beginning. Emilio Estevez as the hacker, Jack, was a surprise to me when he was introduced in the beginning. Needless to say, I was sad to see him go so soon. Cruise played Ethan Hunt perfectly and the effects were awesome. Jon Voight played a convincing character, but the chick who played his wife was AWFUL. I don’t know who she is, but I’m glad I don’t see her in any other movies. AWFUL. This movie was definately a must see. Needless to say, I was excited to see the sequel but dismayed when it took 4 years to come out.

After watching Mission Impossible (MI), Steph and I felt like watching the second one. We both saw it theatrically, apparently together (I had forgotten) and memories of it had faded. I remember not really liking it, but I was willing to give it another chance. So off to Blockbuster we went the next night and rented it. I’d have to say, on this second viewing, I was much more entertained, but the movie was WAY overproduced. Seriously. I don’t know what John Woo was thinking, but it bordered on the ridiculous. I applaud the addition of Sir Anthony Hopkins as Ethan Hunt’s boss, but I jeer the leading lady, Thandie Newton, and the main villain, Dougray Scott. Thandie Newton couldn’t hold her own against the toddlers in Daddy Day Care much less Tom Cruise or Anthony Hopkins. I was glad they brought back Ving Rhames for a small appearance. The action set pieces were cool, if bordering on complete foolishness. I enjoyed the pretty lights and colors, but would not really want to see it again. The script may have been complete ass, but John Woo can really photograph some violence. I mean, it’s like he’s in love with graphic violence. The slow motion, the close ups, the doves. It’s almost violence pornography. You don’t believe me? See this movie or the movie Face/Off. Unbelievable. More faceless characters are killed in John Woo movies than in WWII and Vietnam combined.

I really love the concept of these movies, and the character of Ethan Hunt, particularly.

The next day we went to see Failure to Launch and the Mission Impossible 3 trailer came up. This was the second time I’ve seen it and I was much more excited to see it now that we had watched the first two. JJ Abrams, the writer/creator of Alias and Lost, is writing/directing this installment. He is bringing back Ving Rhames (hopefully in a bigger part) and they have Phillip Seymore Hoffman as the main villain. If you ask me, this is shaping up to be a really good action movie. I will definately choose to accept this Mission……. 🙂

Update 1/31/2007 – Click here to see the full review of Mission: Impossible 3

Technorati Tags –

Shamrocks & Shenanigans

Posted in holiday, Jimmy Stewart, movies, reviews with tags , , on March 17, 2006 by Paxton

Happy St. Paddy’s Day to everyone. I’m home sick, so I’m not happy. Have a green beer for me.

While laying here calmly waiting for death, I watched the Jimmy Stewart classic Harvey. Not very leprechaun-y, but I don’t really have any movies dealing with St. Paddy’s Day that I can think of. This will have to do.

James Stewart plays the always polite, very easy-going everyman, Elwood P Dowd. His best friend is a 6′ 3.5″ white rabbit named Harvey only he can see. Actually, I should have watched this on Easter, considering it has a bunny in it.
Anywho, the whole movie his family is trying to commit him because they think he’s crazy. He keeps winning people over because he’s so polite and nice. Typical Jimmy Stewart. It’s a classic, and one I recommend. Very light comedy. Check it out.

Domo Arigato

Posted in Bing Crosby, movies, reviews with tags , , on March 12, 2006 by Paxton

Good night tonight. The wife and I went to eat sushi. Had the Dragon Roll, spicy scallop and Rock & Roll Tempura. Very good. Ate WAY too much. Afterwards, we saw 16 Blocks with Bruce Willis and Mos Def. Great acting, much better than I expected. We only saw this because there’s not much out we want to see but it was very good.

After getting home from the movie we watched Bing Crosby in Conneticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court. Very silly musical. Very light, but enjoyable. Do NOT take it seriously if you see it. Bing Crosby, like Elvis Presley, has to sing about the most mundane events of his day in his movies.

Movie Reviews: Cool Heist Movies!!

Posted in heists, movies, pop culture, reviews with tags , on March 11, 2006 by Paxton


I just watched The Thomas Crown Affair this morning (Saturday) for the second time. I hadn’t seen it since it was in theaters. I forgot how awesome that movie is. Got me thinking about heists, dude. How freakin’ cool would it be to be a part of a heist? What part would you play? Would you be the guy who obtains all the gear? No matter how sophisiticated or experimental the equipment needs to be, that guy has not only heard of it, he can get it ASAP. Would you be the brains? No matter how complicated or completely insane a security set up is, this guy has seen it, and will know a way around it. I usually dream about being the tech guy. No matter what computer system or software setup is in play, this guy can hack it and make it do whatever he wants. Awesome. In honor of this, I want to talk about a few of my favorite heist movies.


I’ll start with the one I just watched, The Thomas Crown Affair. Brosnan plays cool as a cucumber Thomas Crown and Rene Russo plays sultry Catherine Banning. Sexy and cool movie with a couple very smart art heists. Brosnan was in a movie recently called After the Sunset that could have been a sequel to Thomas Crown Affair. Replace Salma Hayek with Rene Russo and you’re rollin’. Check them both out.


My next heist movie is the one I’d have to say is at the top of the list for me. It’s the remake to Ocean’s 11 with Clooney, Pitt and Damon. Very suave, action packed and it takes place in Vegas. Gotta love it. The sequel was just as good.


Another great heist flick is, suprisingly, The Heist with Gene Hackman and Danny Devito. It’s got a lot of twists, but is pretty dark. Sam Rockwell also puts in a great performance in a very clever script.

Another one I like is called Foolproof. This movie stars Ryan Reynolds and is about a group of young kids that plan perfect robberies, but never perform them, that is, until a gangster forces them to do it. Ryan Reynolds is the man and this movie is very entertaining.

There are many others I enjoy also. Heat with Bobby DeNiro, The Saint with Val Kilmer and Mission: Impossible (the first one and not technically a heist movie but they pull one off). This is a sub-category of movie that I thoroughly enjoy and I hope you do to.

Technorati Tags –